Tesla Prime and the Regulus Event – Summary

27 May

In “Tesla Prime and the Regulus Event”, a group of seven astronauts embark on a mission to explore the distant and alien world of Proteus. Twenty-seven years later, the crew of Tesla Prime returns to find that the Earth has vanished. The only clues are a cryptic message left by an engineer on the Moon and a giant ring structure larger than the Earth itself. The woefully unprepared group of scientists and engineers must band together and find a way to save the human race from extinction. With the fate of the world teetering, a last minute replacement, Daxman Spinner, rises to become an unwilling anti-hero in Earth’s final hour.

At its core, “Tesla Prime” is an intelligent science fiction epic in the same subgenre as “Dune” and “Ender’s Game”.  It is a layered character driven novel, with complex and damaged heroes, mystery, betrayal, and a dash of romance.  Based on my work at NASA/JPL and lectures I have given as an astronomy professor, I’ve worked hard to make sure the story is grounded in real science and cutting-edge technology.

Thank you for visiting and welcome aboard “Tesla Prime and the Regulus Event”.  I hope you enjoy the chapters that I have posted.

37 Responses to “Tesla Prime and the Regulus Event – Summary”

  1. Pip Foweraker May 28, 2012 at 11:47 pm #

    OK, you’ve got me hooked! Can’t wait for more! Nice easter eggs, by the by…

    • Richard Viers (@richviers) May 31, 2012 at 10:43 am #

      I like the plot so far,but don’t understand if you are publishing in print or on line.

      • dequils June 7, 2012 at 12:13 am #

        Probably both. Once we are finished with the editing, we’ll go to editors with an open mind and see what they suggest. But it seems most authors are open to either.

  2. scarlettednoire May 29, 2012 at 4:27 am #

    Sounds very intriguing!

  3. Geetanjali June 2, 2012 at 4:16 am #

    Sounds very interesting! Would love know more! 🙂

  4. Ray June 14, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

    Looks interesting, Im a sci-fi fan, will purchase when published hopefully will look good on my shelves alongside Phillip K Dick , and Stephen Baxter amongst others….

    • dequils July 27, 2012 at 6:50 am #

      Thanks Ray. Appreciate the support. =)

  5. bigdonf June 19, 2012 at 11:29 pm #

    hey prime this sounds really good. i am the guy that makes the book trailers/ twitter is not letting me send messages and we need to talk. see on face book dinfranklin stowe vt or email donfranklin65@yahoo.com,. or just here on wordpress. asap. man i have some GREAT ideas for a trailer for you!!

    • dequils July 27, 2012 at 6:49 am #

      Sounds good. I don’t think I am quite ready for a book trailer yet though. As we get closer to publishing maybe. I’ll let you know.

  6. Patti Rayfield June 23, 2012 at 11:28 pm #

    Sounds really good, looking forward to reading more

  7. catxianews June 30, 2012 at 6:04 am #

    I like this story because my star is Regulus in the constellation of Leo, I wrote a story and call an exoplanet Catxia Regulus system. I mean two different stories about the same place. But my story based on the movie 2001 Space Odyssey by Stanley Kubrick called his ship the Pegasus discovery despite being named Discovery. Use the ship to an imaginary trip to this planetary system.

  8. Chrissy July 10, 2012 at 2:12 pm #

    Sounds fantastic!

  9. Shane Midgley (@V8_Ranger) July 23, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

    I was able to beta Tesla Prime and the Regulus Event. I really enjoyed this book. Even beta form, the story pulled me in and I read it in 2 evenings. Without giving anything away, it combines space, aliens and the human will to survive and overcome! So many things I’d like to say but they might give away the story! You will not be disappointed!

    • dequils July 27, 2012 at 6:47 am #

      Thanks Shane! I appreciate the support and the positive comments. =)

  10. Liz Coley July 28, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

    That sounds like just the kind of book I love. In spite of ending up branded in the dark psychological thriller genre, several of my unpublished novels are hard sci fi for teenagers.

  11. D.G Spillman August 16, 2012 at 12:47 am #

    Any spiritual elements to your story?

    • dequils August 16, 2012 at 6:29 am #

      Not so much in the way of spirituality but you might be surprised to find some. =)

  12. paigevest August 29, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

    Ooh, I’d totally buy this! And would eventually read it!

  13. David E Kriebel (@DavidEkriebeL) September 4, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

    Tesla, Very interesting. My New Concept sees a confluence of “systems” impact each, even if it’s unknown to those “systems.” Currently, using Novel Idea to finish characters and Storyist to connect those “systems.” As my story, or a character in my story, sees the Earth as a “planet-sized spacecraft, may I tap your expertise as an astronomy professor? And possibly on ins & outs of web posting? Keep up the great work!

    • dequils September 6, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

      Thanks David. Interesting you mention “planet-sized spacecraft”. In Tesla Prime, Earth is fitted with 50 mile wide Alcubierre drives that effectively turn the Earth into a movable world. Sure, shoot me an email.

  14. A.C Quinn (@ACQuinn1) September 11, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

    Being an author and Physics Buff, I too chose to base my stories in as close to scientific reality as is humanly possible, even staying away from theory and using known fact. A difficult task to produce a dragon based on science not fantasy. I don’t read much myself, but am interested in reading this book, so perhaps my scientific mind wont keep saying Bu115it every 5 seconds. Cant wait.

    • dequils September 11, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

      Thanks A.C. Quinn. I’m the same way. If I read a story where it is clear that the author doesn’t understand simple physics or astronomy, it takes me out of the story. So it was important for me to capture “reality” as much as possible. Occasionally, I have to “cut corners” but this is the exception.

  15. glennrosado September 21, 2012 at 11:29 pm #

    Can’t wait to read this. I’m a huge Ender’s game fan.

  16. Jan October 14, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

    I don’t read much science fiction anymore, but this story line is intriguing. Sometimes I wish my mind worked more like yours! I tend to be stuck in reality…

  17. ayoskermie December 28, 2012 at 3:34 am #

    Daxman Spinner? Hmm.. I feel like this is the start of a completely different Journey; a journey I am prepared to Take! Cool Summary, by the way! 🙂

    • dequils January 14, 2013 at 5:56 pm #

      Thanks! Hoping to have this published this year. Working out some of the kinks and then the journey will begin. =)

  18. Jo Everett January 22, 2013 at 3:22 pm #

    This is just the type of book that I read, the story sounds great, I hope that you publish it in the UK soon.

    • dequils January 24, 2013 at 8:16 am #

      Thanks Jo! Appreciate the support and I look forward to your comments!

  19. Elizabeth Blackbourne February 8, 2013 at 2:19 am #

    I really liked your blog, so I have nominated you for the Liebster Award. If you choose to accept, put it on your blog, answer the questions I have posted, post eleven random facts about yourself and then list eleven questions for eleven blogs that you would like to nominate. Look forward to reading more of your posts.

  20. rick mclean February 26, 2013 at 2:38 pm #

    Yes! Just found this this morning, you followed me at twitter ( @2newworlds ) great premise and not too much like mine. 🙂 Mine tries to be ‘cutting edge real science’ too – would love to e mail chat with you http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/2-new-worlds/

  21. Lynn Sowrey May 9, 2013 at 12:43 am #

    Your book sounds very interesting! I can’t wait to read it!

  22. Justin Robertson June 18, 2013 at 8:24 pm #

    Tesla Prime is a very awesome story so far! Is there a way I can download it in eBook?

  23. shafattack June 27, 2013 at 11:58 pm #

    Reblogged this on shafattack's Blog.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tesla Prime and the Regulus Event – Summary « ayoskermie - December 30, 2012

    […] Tesla Prime and the Regulus Event – Summary. […]

Leave a Reply

